AB4D Forum

Full Version: XYZ coordinates orientation
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Dear Andrej and Ab3d users,

I'm still new in understanding and using these great 3D functionalities for my C# developing ...

That's why I have some fundamental questions of the concept and therefor the best way for an adequate using in my applications.

Basically, my use cases are in geographic resp. geodetic relations.

This kind of abstraction for real-life conditions has typically the following definition of XYZ coordinates orientation:
  • X means from West to East direction
  • Y means from South to North direction
  • Z means the Height into heaven :-)
Unfortunately it seems that Ab3d is founded on a different fundamental definition, especially in such models like the HeightMap.

It's no problem with other models because I can change their XYZ coordinates orientation quite easy.

But how to solve this for HeightMap?

Thanks a lot in advance & best regards,
Hagen
WPF is using standard right handed coordinate system where X is to the right, Y up and Z "away from the screen".

Also the Ab3d.PowerToys camera work well when Y axis is pointing up. The cameras (expect FreeCamera) do not work well in any other coordinate system.

Therefore I would advise you to preserve the Y up axis and convert the coordinates of objects before you apply them to WPF 3D objects. For example if one object is at (100, 200, 300) in your coordinates, you need to show it at (100, 300, -200) coordinates in WPF.

Another solution is to define a ModelVisual3D with a MatrixTransform3D that transform coordinate system from your coordinate system to WPF coordinate system. It can be defined with the following XAML:

Code:
<ModelVisual3D x:Name="ZUpRootVisual">
    <ModelVisual3D.Transform>
        <!-- The transformation defines the new axis - defined in matrix columns in upper left 3x3 part of the matrix: